Legislative Progress
Introduced
December 4, 2025
Latest Action
December 4, 2025
Primary Sponsor
Adelita S. GrijalvaDemocratic(AZ)
Momentum (last 30 days)
0
score
0 actions · 0 new cosponsors · 0 votes
Speed vs cohort
0pct
0d open
vs 10,940 other HR bills in the 119th — cohort avg 30d
Right to Read Act of 2025 This bill expands access to school libraries and literacy skills support for elementary and secondary school students. It also outlines certain constitutional rights and liability protections related to school libraries. Specifically, the bill reauthorizes through FY2030 (1) the Comprehensive Literacy State Development Program, which provides grants to ensure high-quality instruction and effective strategies in reading and writing for children through 12th grade; and (2) the Innovative Approaches to Literacy Program, which provides grants to support the development of literacy skills in low-income communities. Additionally, the bill allows Supporting Effective Instruction State Grants to be used to assist local educational agencies (LEAs) and schools in recruiting, hiring, and retaining state-certified school librarians. Further, the bill authorizes states and LEAs to use Student Support and Academic Enrichment grants for programs and activities that promote the development of digital literacy and information literacy skills. The Department of Education (ED) must direct the National Center for Education Statistics to biennially collect data on school libraries. ED must require an assurance from each state and LEA receiving certain funds confirming that it will (1) protect the First Amendment rights of students in school libraries, and (2) provide equal protection in the conduct of school libraries in compliance with the requirements of the Fourteenth Amendment and nondiscrimination laws. The bill also provides liability protection to teachers, school librarians, school leaders, paraprofessionals, and other staff for actions that conform with state or local policies regarding the right to read.
These links require the bill number to appear in the filing's source-reported specific issue text. Client expenses and lobbying-firm income are separate disclosure fields.
Filing registrants (2)
2026 · third_quarter · Education
School libraries, workforce development, prison libraries, social workers in libraries, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, federal student loans for professional degree programs, federal statistics about libraries, Executive Order 14238, Executive Order 14242 H.R. 6440, S. 3365, Right to Read Act S.3777 / H.R.7340 - Rebuild Americas Schools Act S. J. Res. 196, Congressional disapproval of student loan limits rule S.5549 / H.R. 10530 Quality Educator Partnership Act Reauthorization of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act (WIOA) Adult Education and Family Literacy Act Prison Libraries: H.R. 8325 Rehabilitation Through Reading Act S. 4319 Rehabilitation Through Reading Act S. 4230 Prison Libraries Act of 2026 H.R. 7247 Prison Libraries Act of 2026 H.R. 9986 Read for Reentry Act of 2026
Referred to the House Committee on Education and Workforce.
Introduced in House
Congress.gov source codes: 1000, Intro-H
Bills with similar content found using semantic analysis.
Sources: Congress.gov
Client expense: $69,069 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Education, Dept of, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), Labor, Dept of (DOL)
2026 · first_quarter · Education
School libraries, workforce development, prison libraries, social workers in libraries, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, federal statistics about libraries, Executive Order 14238, Executive Order 14242 Right to Read Act, H.R. 6440, S. 3365 Reauthorization of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act (WIOA)
Client expense: $65,815 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Education, Dept of, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
2026 · second_quarter · Education
School libraries, workforce development, prison libraries, social workers in libraries, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, federal student loans for professional degree programs, federal statistics about libraries, Executive Order 14238, Executive Order 14242 H.R. 6440, S. 3365, Right to Read Act H.R. 7247, Prison Libraries Act of 2026 S.3777 / H.R.7340 - Rebuild Americas Schools Act S. J. Res. 196, Congressional disapproval of student loan limits rule Reauthorization of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act (WIOA) Adult Education and Family Literacy Act Prison Libraries: H.R. 8325 Rehabilitation Through Reading Act S. 4319 Rehabilitation Through Reading Act S. 4230 Prison Libraries Act of 2026
Client expense: $71,297 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Education, Dept of, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), Labor, Dept of (DOL)
2026 · second_quarter · Civil Rights/Civil Liberties
NEA Charter Repeal EEOC S 1383, SAVE America Act S 3365/HR 6440, Right to Read Act S 4369, Absentee & Mail Voter Protection Act HR 2386, Make Education Great Again Act
Client expense: $670,000 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, SENATE
2026 · second_quarter · Health Issues
REFRESH Act S 4407/HR 7985, CHATBOT Act HR 6440, Right to Read Act
Client expense: $670,000 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, SENATE
2026 · first_quarter · Education
School libraries, workforce development, prison libraries, social workers in libraries, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, federal student loans for professional degree programs, federal statistics about libraries, Executive Order 14238, Executive Order 14242 H.R. 6440, S. 3365, Right to Read Act H.R. 7247, Prison Libraries Act of 2026 Reauthorization of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act (WIOA) Adult Education and Family Literacy Act
Client expense: $67,269 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Education, Dept of, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), Labor, Dept of (DOL)
2025 · fourth_quarter · Education
School libraries, workforce development, prison libraries, social workers in libraries, Public Service Loan Forgiveness, federal statistics about libraries, Executive Order 14238, Executive Order 14242 Right to Read Act, H.R. 6440, S. 3365 Reauthorization of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunities Act (WIOA)
Client expense: $65,815 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Education, Dept of, Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
| Democratic |
| ME |
| Daniel S. Goldman | Democratic | NY |
| Dwight Evans | Democratic | PA |
| Ed Case | Democratic | HI |
| Eleanor Holmes Norton | Democratic | DC |
| Emily Randall | Democratic | WA |
| Frederica S. Wilson | Democratic | FL |
| Gabe Amo | Democratic | RI |
| Glenn Ivey | Democratic | MD |
| Jahana Hayes | Democratic | CT |
| James P. McGovern | Democratic | MA |
| James R. Walkinshaw | Democratic | VA |
| Janice D. Schakowsky | Democratic | IL |
| Jesús G. "Chuy" García | Democratic | IL |
| John Garamendi | Democratic | CA |
| Joyce Beatty | Democratic | OH |
| Lateefah Simon | Democratic | CA |
| Maxine Dexter | Democratic | OR |
| Nikki Budzinski | Democratic | IL |
| Pablo José Hernández | Democratic | PR |
| Raja Krishnamoorthi | Democratic | IL |
| Rashida Tlaib | Democratic | MI |
| Rick Larsen | Democratic | WA |
| Sara Jacobs | Democratic | CA |
| Seth Magaziner | Democratic | RI |
| Shomari Figures | Democratic | AL |
| Shri Thanedar | Democratic | MI |
| Summer L. Lee | Democratic | PA |
| Suzan K. DelBene | Democratic | WA |
| Suzanne Bonamici | Democratic | OR |