Main Street Employee Ownership Act of 2018
Legislative Progress
Introduced
April 26, 2018
Latest Action
April 26, 2018
Primary Sponsor
Kirsten E. GillibrandDemocratic(NY)
Momentum (last 30 days)
0
score
0 actions · 0 new cosponsors · 0 votes
Speed vs cohort
0pct
0d open
vs 3,805 other S bills in the 115th — cohort avg 41d
Main Street Employee Ownership Act of 2018 This bill amends the Small Business Act to expand the authority of the Small Business Administration (SBA) to guarantee loans for qualified employee trusts of a small business to purchase the stock of that business. Specifically, the bill allows the guaranteed loan to also cover transactions costs associated with purchasing the stock. In addition, it allows loans to a small business to be guaranteed if the loan proceeds will: (1) be used to provide loans to a qualified employee trust of the small business to purchase the business's stock, and (2) result in the trust owning at least 51% of the business's stock. The SBA must guarantee loans to cooperatives in which employees are eligible for membership for such stock purchases. The SBA shall: (1) provide outreach and educational materials to licensed small business investment companies to increase investment in transitions to employee-owned businesses, and (2) establish a Small Business Employee Ownership and Cooperative Promotion Program to offer technical assistance and training on the transition to employee ownership through cooperatives and qualified employee trusts. The Administrator of the SBA shall coordinate an interagency working group on employee-owned businesses.
These links require the bill number to appear in the filing's source-reported specific issue text. Client expenses and lobbying-firm income are separate disclosure fields.
Filing registrants (1)
2018 · fourth_quarter · Small Business
-H.R. 5236, Main Street Employee Ownership Act -S. 2786, Main Street Employee Ownership Act -H.R. 5515, John S. McCain National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2019
Client expense: $10,891 · Firm income: Not reported
Read twice and referred to the Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship.
Introduced in Senate
Bills with similar content found using semantic analysis.
Sources: Congress.gov
Government targets: Agriculture, Dept of (USDA), HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, SENATE, Small Business Administration (SBA)
2018 · third_quarter · Small Business
-H.R. 5236, Main Street Employee Ownership Act -S. 2786, Main Street Employee Ownership Act -H.R. 5515, John S. McCain National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2019
Client expense: $16,337 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Agriculture, Dept of (USDA), HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, SENATE, Small Business Administration (SBA)
2018 · second_quarter · Small Business
-H.R. 5236, Main Street Employee Ownership Act -S. 2786, Main Street Employee Ownership Act
Client expense: $16,337 · Firm income: Not reported
Government targets: Agriculture, Dept of (USDA), HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, SENATE
| Democratic |
| NH |
| Susan M. Collins | Republican | ME |
| Todd Young | Republican | IN |